Stages of Grief

I’ve been through a lot of grief in my life, but certainly not as much as some.  Everyone has heard of the stages of grief but may not know exactly where they come from.  They come from a psychiatrist, Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, who said these are the stages that terminally ill patients go through.  Well, when you go through something horrific you also go through these stages.  Denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance.  Yeah, I certainly went through all of that.  Maybe the stages will be in a different order for you, maybe certain stages will be experienced over and over, and maybe there will be other stages.  But those 5 things are generally accepted by the medical community as the stages of grief.  If you’re a stroke survivor and it’s been a few years, you’ve accepted it.  You’re done with the stages – congratulations!  Now you just have to deal with the rest of your life.  🙂  If you’re a relatively new stroke survivor, give it a year or so, you’ll be a COMPLETELY different person.  Believe me, you’ll come out of this hell, you might even be a better person for having gone through it.

Categories: Health, Recovery

4 replies

  1. It’s not uncommon for people to go through those stages more than once, especially after experiencing trauma (like stroke). Grief can pop up again at any time, even just for a few moments. You don’t always have to go through every stage, and since it can come and go over years, it’s hard to say if you’re ever really finished.

    And you’re right about being a different person. My husband just passed his one year stroke anniversary, and we’re both very different people. Hopefully, though, we’ve changed for the better.


  1. Stages of Grief following Diagnosis « ADD . . . and-so-much-more
  2. Book Review: Hating Heidi Foster by Jeffrey Blount |

Say things.................

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: